MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, May 5, 2025 7:45 A.M. Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, May 5, 2025, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

None

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair Senator Brent Hagenbuch, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Brian Birdwell Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Bryan Hughes Senator Borris Miles Senator Angela Paxton Senator Kevin Sparks

The chair called the meeting to order at 7:45 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after roll call was called: Senator Alvarado, Senator Hughes, and Senator Miles.

Senator Hagenbuch moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Brazos River Authority Board of Directors, Council on Cardiovascular Disease and Stroke, Governing Board of the Texas Indigent Defense Commission, Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority Board of Directors, Gulf Coast Authority Board of Directors, Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission, State Securities Board, State Soil and Water Conservation Board, Teacher Retirement System of Texas Board of Trustees, Texas Behavioral Health Executive

Council, Texas Board of Occupational Therapy Examiners, Texas Board of Respiratory Care, Texas Commission on Fire Protection, Texas Farm and Ranch Lands Conservation Council, Texas Historical Commission, Texas Military Preparedness Commission, Texas School for the Deaf Governing Board, Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors, Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists, Texas Tech University System Board of Regents, Texas Transportation Commission, Texas Woman's University Board of Regents, and University of Texas System Board of Regents. The motion carried with a record vote of 9 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent. Senator Hughes and Senator Miles submitted motions in writing to be shown voting aye. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Alvarado moved that the committee sever Douglas M. McReaken appointed to the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents from the list of pending nominees. Vice-Chair Hagenbuch moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Douglas M. McReaken to the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents. The motion carried with a record vote of 6 ayes, 3 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent. Senator Hughes submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting aye. Senator Miles submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting nay. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent Chairman Brooke Paup, who has been appointed to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, to the committee.

Chairman Paup made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Birdwell, Senator Paxton, and Senator Alvarado offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent Commissioner Catarina Gonzales, who has been appointed to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, to the committee.

Commissioner Gonzales made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Alvarado, Senator Birdwell, and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent Mrs. Alithea Sullivan, who has been appointed to the Texas Southern University Board of Regents, to the committee.

Mrs. Sullivan made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, Senator Birdwell, and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent Mr. Benjamin Barkley, who has been appointed to the Chief Executive and Public Counsel of the Office of Public Utility Counsel, to the committee.

Mr. Barkley made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell announced that all nominees on the posted agenda would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 9:30 a.m., Chair Campbell moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair

Hayden Davis, Clerk