#### **MINUTES**

## SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, March 10, 2025 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, March 10, 2025, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Senator Kevin Sparks

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair Senator Brent Hagenbuch, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Brian Birdwell Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Bryan Hughes Senator Borris Miles Senator Angela Paxton

None

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after roll call was called: Senator Alvarado, Senator Birdwell, Senator Hughes, and Senator Miles.

Vice-Chair Hagenbuch moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Supreme Court of Texas, Fifteenth Court of Appeals, Eleventh Business Court Division, Fourth Business Court Division, School Land Board, Texas Veterans Commission, Water Development Board, Texas Workforce Commission, Animal Health Commission, Texas Board of Architectural Examiners, Texas County and District Retirement System Board of Trustees, Criminal District Attorney, Yoakum County, Commission

# **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Monday, March 10, 2025 Page 2

on State Emergency Communications, Texas Emergency Services Retirement System Board of Trustees, First Business Court Division, Third Business Court Division, Eighth Business Court Division, Texas State Library and Archives Commission, Texas Commission of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact Commission, Texas Municipal Retirement System Board of Trustees, Texas Mutual Insurance Company Board of Directors, Lower Neches Valley Authority Board of Directors, Nonresident Violator Compact Administrator, North Texas Tollway Authority Board of Directors, Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners, Regional Mobility Authority, Cameron County, Grayson County, Hidalgo County, North East Texas, Webb County - City of Laredo, State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners. The motion carried with a record vote of 9 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent. Senator Alvarado, Senator Birdwell, Senator Hughes, and Senator Miles submitted motions in writing to be shown voting aye. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Kolkhorst to introduce her constituent Ms. Ashlie Thomas, who has been appointed to the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, to the committee.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Birdwell to introduce his constituent Director John Scott, who has been appointed as the Director of the Office of School Safety and Security, to the committee.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Parker to introduce his constituent Commissioner Stodghill, who has been appointed as Commissioner of the Public Safety Commission, to the committee.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Cook to introduce her constituent Ms. Kelley Georgiades, who has been appointed to the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents, to the committee.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, on behalf of Senator King, to introduce his constituent The Honorable Brian Stagner, who has been appointed to the Eighth Business Court Division, to the committee.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent Justice Sullivan, who has been appointed to the Supreme Court of Texas, Place 2, to the committee.

Justice Sullivan made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Birdwell, Senator Paxton, and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

## **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Monday, March 10, 2025 Page 3

Judge Brian Stagner made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, and Senator Alvarado offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Alvarado to introduce her constituent The Honorable Lance Long, who has been appointed to the 183rd Judicial District, Harris County, to the committee.

Judge Lance Long made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Ms. Kelley Georgiades made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, and Senator Alvarado offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Paxton to introduce her constituent Ms. Teresa West, who has been appointed to the University of North Texas System Board of Regents, to the committee.

Regent West made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, Senator Paxton, and Senator Sparks, offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Ms. Thomas made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Vice-Chair Hagenbuch offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Commissioner Steven Stodghill made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, and Senator Sparks offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Director John Scott made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, Senator Sparks, Senator Miles, and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell announced that all nominees on the posted agenda would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 10:02 a.m., Vice-Chair Hagenbuch moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

# **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Monday, March 10, 2025 Page 4

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair
Hayden Davis, Clerk