MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, February 24, 2025 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, February 24, 2025, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Borris Miles

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair Senator Brent Hagenbuch, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Brian Birdwell Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Bryan Hughes Senator Angela Paxton Senator Kevin Sparks

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:05 a.m.. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after roll was called: Senator Birdwell and Senator Hughes.

Chair Campbell offered opening comments and recognized the other members of the committee to do the same.

Senator Alvarado moved adoption of the committee rules. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Sparks to introduce his constituent David Eyler, who has been nominated to be a member of the School Land Board.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Cook to introduce her constituent The Honorable Samuel "Grant" Dorfman, who has been nominated to be a Judge on the 11th Division Texas Business Court.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent The Honorable Chief Justice James "Jimmy" Blacklock, who has been nominated as Chief Justice of the Texas Supreme Court.

Chief Justice Blacklock made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Eckhardt, Senator Paxton, Senator Birdwell, and Senator Hughes offered questions and comments. Five witness cards were submitted registering three positions against and two positions on the nomination of Chief Justice Blacklock. See the attached witness list.

Mr. David Eyler made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by Chair Campbell and Senator Sparks. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell introduced her constituent Laura Koerner who has been reappointed, to the Texas Veterans Commission.

Chairwoman Koerner made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, Senator Sparks, and Senator Birdwell. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent The Honorable Chief Justice Scott Brister, who has been nominated as Chief Justice of the 15th Court of Appeals.

Chief Justice Brister made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Birdwell, and Senator Hughes offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

The Honorable Samuel "Grant" Dorfman made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by Chair Campbell, Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, Senator Birdwell and Senator Hughes. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell introduced her constituent The Honorable Marialyn Barnard who has been nominated to be a Judge on the 4th Division Texas Business Court.

The Honorable Marialyn Barnard made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by Chair Campbell and Senator Hughes. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Eckhardt to introduce her constituent Tonya Miller, who has been nominated to the Texas Water Development Board.

Mrs. Miller made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Sparks, Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, Senator Eckhardt, and Senator Birdwell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Hagenbuch to introduce Senator Schwertner's constituent Commissioner Jose "Joe" Esparza Commissioner of the Texas Workforce Commission, who has been nominated to the Texas Workforce Commission.

Commissioner Esparza made an opening statement. Chair Campbell, Senator Birdwell, Vice-Chair Hagenbuch, and Senator Sparks offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell announced that all of the nominees on the posted agenda would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 11:10 a.m., Chair Campbell moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Donna Campbell, M.D., Chair

Hayden Davis, Clerk