### **MINUTES**

# SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Monday, April 17, 2023 8:00 AM Capitol Extension, Room E1.016

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, April 17, 2023, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Senator Donna Campbell, Chair Senator Kevin Sparks, Vice Chair Senator Carol Alvarado Senator Sarah Eckhardt Senator Morgan LaMantia Senator Borris Miles Senator Angela Paxton Senator Bryan Hughes

Senator Drew Springer

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Eckhardt and Senator Miles.

Vice-Chair Sparks moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Texas Permanent School Fund Corporation Board of Directors, State Board of Education, Chair, Public Counsel for the Office of Public Insurance Counsel, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, Teacher Retirement System of Texas Board of Trustees, Texas School Safety Center Board, Department of Information Resources, Texas Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, Texas Emergency Services Retirement System Board of Trustees, Texas Forensic Science Commission, Texas Medical Board, and the Texas Racing Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 8 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.

# **Senate Committee on Nominations**

Minutes Monday, April 17, 2023 Page 2

Senator Eckhardt and Senator Miles submitted motions in writing to be shown voting aye. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator Hinojosa to introduce his constituent Mr. Alex Meade, who has been appointed to the Texas Transportation Commission.

Chair Campbell recognized Senator West to introduce his constituent Mr. Robert Rivera, who has been reappointed to the Texas Lottery Commission.

Mr. Alex Meade made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Vice-Chair Sparks offered questions and comments. Mr. Jay Crossley testified on the nomination of Mr. Alex Meade to the Texas Transportation Commission. See the attached witness list.

Mr. Robert Rivera made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Sparks, on behalf of Senator Creighton, to introduce his constituent, Mr. Oliver Bell, who has been reappointed to the Parks and Wildlife Commission.

Mr. Oliver Bell made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Senator Eckhardt offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Sparks, on behalf of Senator Huffman, to introduce her constituent, Mr. David Baggett, who has been appointed to the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents.

Mr. David Baggett made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Senator Paxton offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell recognized Vice-Chair Sparks, on behalf of Senator Bettencourt, to introduce his constituent, Mr. Sam Torn, who has been appointed to the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents.

Mr. Sam Torn made an opening statement. Chair Campbell offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

**Senate Committee on Nominations** 

Minutes Monday, April 17, 2023 Page 3

Vice-Chair Sparks assumed the Chair.

Chair Sparks recognized Chair Campbell to introduce her constituent Mr. John Bellinger, who has been appointed to the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents.

Mr. John Bellinger made an opening statement. Chair Campbell and Vice-Chair Sparks offered questions and comments. No public testimony was offered.

Chair Campbell resumed the chair.

Ms. Felicia Farrar offered public testimony against the nominees to the Texas State Board of Public Accountancy. See the attached witness list.

There being no further business, at 9:18 a.m., Senator Alvarado moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair, without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Donna Campbell, M.D., Chair	
Brandon Gajeton, Clerk	