MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE

Tuesday, May 30, 2023
1:15 PM or upon adjournment/recess
Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to suspension of Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was held on Tuesday, May 30, 2023, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Joan Huffman, Chair Senator Juan Hinojosa, Vice Chair

Senator Paul Bettencourt

Senator Pete Flores

Senator Bob Hall

Senator Kelly Hancock

Senator Bryan Hughes

Senator Robert Nichols

Senator Angela Paxton

Senator Charles Perry

Senator Charles Schwertner

Senator Royce West

Senator John Whitmire

Senator Judith Zaffirini

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Donna Campbell Senator Brandon Creighton Senator Lois Kolkhorst

The chair called the meeting to order at 1:30 PM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The chair laid out SB 1 and recognized the author, Senator Bettencourt, to explain the bill.

No witnesses testified or registered on the bill.

Senate Committee on FinanceMinutes

Tuesday, May 30, 2023

Page 2

The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Bettencourt moved that SB 1 be reported favorably to the Senate with the recommendation that it do pass and be printed. The motion carried with a record vote of 14 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 3 absent.

The chair laid out SJR 1 and recognized the author, Senator Bettencourt, to explain the bill.

No witnesses testified or registered on the bill.

The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Bettencourt moved that SJR 1 be reported favorably to the Senate with the recommendation that it do pass and be printed. The motion carried with a record vote of 14 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 3 absent.

There being no further business, at 1:34 PM Senator Huffman moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Joan Huffman, Chair	
Stephanie Hoover, Clerk	