Monday, February 4, 2019

10:00 AM

Capitol Extension, Room E1.036




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was held on Monday, February 4, 2019, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Jane Nelson, Chair



Senator Juan Hinojosa, Vice Chair



Senator Paul Bettencourt



Senator Brian Birdwell



Senator Donna Campbell



Senator Peter Flores



Senator Kelly Hancock



Senator Joan Huffman



Senator Lois Kolkhorst



Senator Robert Nichols



Senator Charles Perry



Senator Larry Taylor



Senator Kirk Watson



Senator Royce West



Senator John Whitmire






The Chair called the meeting to order at 10:03 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


The Chair laid out as a matter of pending business SB 1.


Testimony was heard on SB 1 Article VIII. Witnesses testifying and registering are shown on the attached list.


Department of Licensing and Regulation

State Office of Administrative Hearings

Department of Insurance

Office of Public Insurance Counsel

Office of Injured Employee Counsel

Public Utility Commission

Office of Public Utility Counsel

Racing Commission

Securities Board

Executive Council of Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Examiners

Board of Chiropractic Examiners

Board of Dental Examiners


Senator Hinojosa assumed the Chair.


Funeral Service Commission

Health Professions Council

Medical Board

Board of Nursing


Senator Nelson resumed the Chair.


Optometry Board

Board of Examiners of Psychologists

Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners

Board of Pharmacy

Board of Plumbing Examiners

Board of Professional Land Surveying

Board of Professional Geoscientists

Special Provisions Relating to All Regulatory Agencies


Public testimony was heard.


The Chair closed public testimony.


Senator Nelson moved that SB 1 be left pending; without objection, it was so ordered.


There being no further business, at 3:29 PM Senator Nelson moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.









Senator Jane Nelson, Chair




Stephanie Hoover, Clerk