Wednesday, January 23, 2019

9:00 AM

Capitol Extension, Room E1.036




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was held on Wednesday, January 23, 2019, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Jane Nelson, Chair



Senator Juan Hinojosa, Vice Chair



Senator Paul Bettencourt



Senator Brian Birdwell



Senator Donna Campbell



Senator Peter Flores



Senator Kelly Hancock



Senator Joan Huffman



Senator Lois Kolkhorst



Senator Robert Nichols



Senator Charles Perry



Senator Larry Taylor



Senator Kirk Watson



Senator Royce West



Senator John Whitmire






The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


The Chair laid out SB 1. Testimony was heard on SB 1 Article I. Witnesses testifying and registering are shown on the attached list.


John McGeady, Legislative Budget Board, answered questions from his presentation on Legislative Budget Estimates that he presented on January 22, 2019.


Comptroller of Public Accounts

Employees Retirement System

At 10:52 AM Senator Nelson announced that the Committee stand in recess until 1:00 PM.

At 1:01 PM Senator Nelson reconvened the meeting.


Testimony continued with the Employees Retirement System


Texas Emergency Services Retirement System

Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas

Commission on State Emergency Communications

Pension Review Board

Commission on the Arts

Library and Archives Commission

Veterans Commission

State Preservation Board


Public testimony was heard.


Senator Hinojosa assumed the chair.


Senator Nelson resumed the chair.


The chair closed public testimony.


Senator Nelson moved that SB 1 be left pending; without objection, it was so ordered.


There being no further business, at 4:54 PM Senator Nelson moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.









Senator Jane Nelson, Chair




Stephanie Hoover, Clerk