MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, May 18, 2017 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, May 18, 2017, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair Senator Dawn Buckingham Senator Craig Estes Senator Borris Miles Senator Van Taylor

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair Senator José Menéndez

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following member arrived after the roll was called: Senator Miles.

Senator Buckingham moved adoption of the minutes from the previous two hearings held on May 10, 2017, and May 11, 2017; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Taylor moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: 451st Judicial District Court, Kendall County, Administrative Judicial Region, Fifth, Administrative Judicial Region, Ninth, Administrative Judicial Region, Sixth, Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority, Court of Appeals for the Fifth Court of Appeals District, Court of Appeals for the Second Court of Appeals District, Credit Union Commission, Governing Board of the Texas School for the Deaf, Judicial Compensation Commission, Office of Injured Employee Counsel, State Commission on Judicial Conduct, State Soil and Water Conservation Board, Texas Board of Architectural Examiners, Texas

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, May 18, 2017 Page 2

Commission of Licensing and Regulation, Texas Commission on Fire Protection, Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs, Texas Farm and Ranch Lands Conservation Council, Texas Historical Commission, Texas Medical Board, Texas Mutual Insurance Company Board of Directors, Texas Physician Assistant Board, Texas Private Security Board, Texas Public Finance Authority, Texas Real Estate Commission, Texas School Safety Center Board of Directors, Texas State Board of Acupuncture Examiners, Texas State Board of Pharmacy, Texas State Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners, and Texas Water Development Board. The motion carried with a record vote of 5 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 2 absent. Senator Miles submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting aye; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Estes was recognized to introduce James P. Lattimore, who has been nominated to the Brazos River Authority Board of Directors, to the committee.

Senator Kolkhorst was recognized to introduce Stephen F. Cooper, who has been nominated to the Lower Colorado River Authority Board of Directors, to the committee.

Senator Hughes was recognized to introduce Catherine A. Stedman, who has been nominated to the Sulphur River Basin Authority Board of Directors, to the committee.

Chairman Birdwell introduced Charles R. Huber, III, who has been nominated to the Brazos River Authority Board of Directors, to the committee.

Chairman Birdwell also introduced Frank H. Steed, Jr, who has been nominated to Trinity River Authority Board of Directors, to the committee.

Ms. Steadman made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chairman Birdwell and Senator Taylor.

Mr. Cooper made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered by the following member: Chairman Birdwell.

Mr. Lattimore and Mr. Huber made opening statements. Questions and comments were offered by the following member: Chairman Birdwell.

At 9:33 a.m., Chairman Birdwell announced that the committee would stand at ease.

Chairman Birdwell reconvened the meeting at 9:47 a.m.

Senate Committee on Nominations

Minutes Thursday, May 18, 2017 Page 3

Ms. Lucas and Mr. Steed made opening statements. Questions and comments were offered by the following members: Chairman Birdwell and Senator Buckingham.

Upon the completion of questions, no public testimony was offered.

Chairman Birdwell announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 10:12 a.m., Senator Buckingham moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

| Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair | |
|-------------------------------|--|
| | |
| | |
| John Ryan Isaacson, Clerk | |