## MINUTES

SENATE COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS

Thursday, April 20, 2017 8:00 AM Betty King Committee Room

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Thursday, April 20, 2017, in the Betty King Committee Room at Austin, Texas.

\*\*\*\*\*

## **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

## MEMBERS ABSENT: None

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair Senator Kirk Watson, Vice Chair Senator Dawn Buckingham Senator Craig Estes Senator José Menéndez Senator Borris Miles Senator Van Taylor

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 8:04 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

The following members arrived after the roll was called: Senator Menéndez and Senator Estes.

Senator Buckingham moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on Wednesday, April 12, 2017; without objection, it was so ordered.

Chairman Birdwell announced that the committee would take up the pending business from the Wednesday, April 12<sup>th</sup> meeting. He asked if there were any motions to sever. Vice-Chairman Watson requested to sever Kelcy L. Warren to be a member of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission. The request was automatically granted.

Chairman Birdwell moved that committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals to the following entities: Board for Lease of Texas Department of Criminal Justice Lands, Board of Pardons and Paroles, Board of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, Canadian River Compact Commissioner, Coastal Water Authority Board of Directors, Commissioner of Workers' Compensation, Council on Sex Offender Treatment, Governing Board of the Texas Indigent Defense Commission, Governing Board of the Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired, Parks and Wildlife Commission (with the exception of Kelcy L. Warren), and Red River Compact Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 7 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent. The following members submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting aye: Senator Estes and Senator Menéndez. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Chairman Birdwell moved that the committee vote to approve the nomination of Kelcy L. Warren to be a member of the Parks and Wildlife Commission. The motion carried with a record vote of 4 ayes, 3 nays, 0 present not voting, and 0 absent. The following member submitted a motion in writing to be shown voting no: Vice-Chairman Watson. This did not change the outcome of the vote. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Seliger was recognized to introduce Mr. Timothy A. Leach, who has been nominated to the Texas A&M System Board of Regents, to the committee.

Senator Campbell was recognized to introduce Ms. Elaine M. Mendoza, who has been renominated to the Texas A&M System Board of Regents, to the committee.

Senator Kolkhorst was recognized to introduce Mr. Clifton L. Thomas, Jr., who has been renominated to the Texas A&M System Board of Regents, to the committee.

Senator Huffines was recognized to introduce Mr. George B. Ryan, who has been re-nominated to the University of North Texas System Board of Regents, to the committee.

Senator Miles was recognized to introduce Mr. Oliver J. Bell, who has been nominated to the Texas Southern University Board of Regents, to the committee.

Chairman Birdwell introduced Ms. Tiffany D. Burks, who has been nominated to the Midwestern State University Board of Regents, to the committee.

Senator Lucio was recognized to introduce Dr. Nolan E. Perez, who has been nominated to the Texas Woman's University Board of Regents, to the committee.

Mr. Thomas, Ms. Mendoza, and Mr. Leach all made opening statements. Questions and comments were offered from the following members: Senator Buckingham, Senator Taylor, Senator Miles, Chairman Birdwell, and Senator Menéndez.

Ms. Burks, Mr. Bell, and Dr. Perez all made opening statements. Questions and comments were offered from the following members: Chairman Birdwell, Senator Menéndez, Senator Estes, and Senator Miles.

During the questioning of the nominees above, Vice-Chairman Watson assumed the chair.

Mr. Ryan made an opening statement. Questions and comments were offered from the following members: Senator Estes, Vice-Chairman Watson, Chairman Birdwell, and Senator Menéndez.

During the questioning of Mr. Ryan, Chairman Birdwell resumed the chair.

Upon the completion of questions, no public testimony was offered.

Chairman Birdwell announced that all appearing and non-appearing nominees would be left pending before the committee.

There being no further business, at 10:53 a.m., Vice-Chairman Watson moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Brian Birdwell, Chair

John Ryan Isaacson, Clerk