Wednesday, February 22, 2017

8:00 AM

Capitol Extension, Room E1.016




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Transportation was held on Wednesday, February 22, 2017, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Robert Nichols, Chair



Senator Bob Hall, Vice Chair



Senator Brandon Creighton



Senator Sylvia Garcia



Senator Kelly Hancock



Senator Juan Hinojosa



Senator Lois Kolkhorst



Senator Charles Perry



Senator José Rodríguez






The chair called the meeting to order at 8:01 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


The chair welcomed the Committee members to the Senate Transportation Committee and made introductory remarks, followed by the chair’s introduction of the Senate Transportation Committee staff.  The chair recognized the Committee members to make opening remarks and introduce their respective staffs.


The chair laid out the proposed Committee Rules for the 85th Legislature.  Senator Hall moved adoption of the Committee Rules.  The motion carried with a record vote of 8 ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 1 absent.


The Committee heard invited testimony from the following:


Texas Department of Transportation

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles

Texas Department of Public Safety


Witnesses testifying and registering are shown on the attached list.


There being no further business, at 10:17 AM Senator Nichols moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.




Senator Robert Nichols, Chair




Amy Jeter, Clerk