The House Committee on Transportation

85th Legislature

May 20, 2017

12:45 p.m.



Pursuant to an announcement from the house floor on May 20, 2017, and permission granted on May 20, 2017, to meet while the House was in session, the House Committee on Transportation met in a formal meeting and was called to order by the chair, Representative Morrison, Geanie W., at 12:45 p.m.


The initial quorum call was answered as follows: Representatives Morrison, Geanie W.; Martinez, "Mando"; Burkett; Goldman; Israel; Minjarez; Phillips; Pickett; Simmons; Thompson, Ed; Thompson, Senfronia; and Wray.


A quorum was present.



SB 1939


The chair laid out SB 1939.


The chair recognized Representative VanDeaver to explain SB 1939.


Representative Thompson, Senfronia moved that SB 1939, without amendments, be reported favorably to the full house with the recommendation that it do pass and be printed.  The motion prevailed by the following record vote:


Ayes:                           Representatives Morrison, Geanie W.; Martinez, "Mando"; Burkett; Israel; Minjarez; Phillips; Simmons; Thompson, Ed; Thompson, Senfronia; Wray (10).


Nays:                           Representative Pickett (1).


Present, Not Voting:   Representative Goldman (1).


Absent:                        Representative Davis, Yvonne (1).







At 12:50 p.m., on the motion of the chair and without objection, the meeting was adjourned subject to the call of the chair.




Rep. Morrison, Geanie W., Chair




Leigh Anne Lauderdale, Clerk