Monday, February 23, 2015

11:00 AM

Capitol Extension, Room E1.036




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was held on Monday, February 23, 2015, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Jane Nelson, Chair



Senator Juan Hinojosa, Vice Chair



Senator Paul Bettencourt



Senator Kevin Eltife



Senator Kelly Hancock



Senator Joan Huffman



Senator Lois Kolkhorst



Senator Robert Nichols



Senator Charles Schwertner



Senator Kel Seliger



Senator Larry Taylor



Senator Carlos Uresti



Senator Kirk Watson



Senator Royce West



Senator John Whitmire






The Chair called the meeting to order at 11:01 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


Senator Nelson laid out SB 2 as pending business.



 Testimony was heard on SB 2 – Article V. Witnesses testifying and registering are shown on the attached list.


Department of Public Safety


At 1:49 PM Senator Nelson moved that the Committee stand in recess until 15 minutes upon adjournment of the Senate. Without objection, it was so ordered.


At 3:11 PM Senator Nelson reconvened the meeting.


Testimony continued with the Department of Public Safety


Texas Military Department


Senator Hinojosa assumed the chair.


Texas Department of Criminal Justice


Senator Nelson resumed the chair.


Senator Nelson announced that all agencies on the agenda that had not testified would be moved to Thursday, February 26, 2015.  She announced that public testimony would be heard for the agencies that testified at the hearing, as well as anyone from the public who would not be able to testify on February 26. 


Public testimony was heard.


Senator Nelson closed public testimony on Department of Public Safety, Texas Department of Criminal Justice and Texas Military Department.


Senator Nelson moved that Article V and SB 2 be left pending; without objection, it was so ordered.


There being no further business, at 6:52 PM Senator Nelson moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.









Senator Jane Nelson, Chair




Stephanie Hoover, Clerk