The House Committee on Public Education

84th Legislature

February 9, 2016

10:00 a.m.



Pursuant to a notice posted on January 25, 2016, the House Committee on Public Education met in a public hearing and was called to order by the chair, Representative Aycock, at 10:05 a.m.


The initial quorum call was answered as follows: Representatives Aycock; Allen; Bohac; Deshotel; Farney; Galindo; King, Ken; and VanDeaver.


A quorum was present.



Testimony was taken on interim charge number 6.   (See below)


Review the state's current education policies and initiatives regarding middle grades. Make recommendations to ensure a comprehensive, research-based state strategy for preparing students at the middle grades for high school retention, success, and postsecondary readiness. This review should include an examination of school-based strategies and best practices that encourage at-risk youth to finish school.


(Representative González, Mary now present.)


(Representative Dutton now present.)


Testimony was taken on interim charge number 7.   (See below)


Review current public education programs that address the needs of high performing students. Identify the adequacy of these programs statewide in meeting the needs of this specific student group and explore additional means to promote high quality programs designed to meet the educational needs of these students. Study ways to increase the recognition of the performance of higher performing students on test-based and non-test based measures. Examine whether the current and proposed state accountability systems adequately promote districts’ addressing the needs of students across the performance spectrum, including those students significantly outperforming their peers. Recommend whether the academic performance of high achieving students should be specifically addressed as a separate indicator in the accountability system.


At 1:44 p.m., on the motion of the chair and without objection, the meeting was adjourned subject to the call of the chair.




Rep. Aycock, Chair




Jenna Watts, Clerk