S.B. No. 1877
  relating to the development and maintenance by each state agency of
  a data use agreement for the state agency's employees and to
  training related to that agreement.
         SECTION 1.  Subchapter F, Chapter 2054, Government Code, is
  amended by adding Section 2054.134 to read as follows:
         Sec. 2054.134.  DATA USE AGREEMENT. (a)  Each state agency
  shall develop a data use agreement for use by the agency that meets
  the particular needs of the agency and is consistent with rules
  adopted by the department that relate to information security
  standards for state agencies.
         (b)  A state agency shall update the data use agreement at
  least biennially, but may update the agreement at any time as
  necessary to accommodate best practices in data management.
         (c)  A state agency shall distribute the data use agreement
  developed under this section, and each update to that agreement, to
  employees of the agency who handle sensitive information, including
  financial, medical, personnel, or student data. The employee shall
  sign the data use agreement distributed and each update to the
         (d)  To the extent possible, a state agency shall provide
  employees described by Subsection (c) with cybersecurity awareness
  training to coincide with the distribution of:
               (1)  the data use agreement required under this
  section; and
               (2)  each biennial update to that agreement.
         SECTION 2.  This Act takes effect September 1, 2015.
  ______________________________ ______________________________
     President of the Senate Speaker of the House     
         I hereby certify that S.B. No. 1877 passed the Senate on
  April 30, 2015, by the following vote: Yeas 30, Nays 1; and that
  the Senate concurred in House amendment on May 29, 2015, by the
  following vote: Yeas 31, Nays 0.
  Secretary of the Senate    
         I hereby certify that S.B. No. 1877 passed the House, with
  amendment, on May 26, 2015, by the following vote: Yeas 144,
  Nays 0, two present not voting.
  Chief Clerk of the House