MINUTES

JOINT COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION POLICY FOR A SKILLED WORKFORCE

Tuesday, October 14, 2014 10:00 AM E1.036 (Senate Finance Room)

Pursuant to Rule 1, Texas House Rules and pursuant to Rule 11.03, Texas Senate Rules, a public hearing of the Joint Committee on Education Policy for a Skilled Workforce was held on Tuesday, October 14, 2014, in E1.036 (Senate Finance Room).

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Representative Jim Murphy, Co-Chair Senator Kel Seliger, Co-Chair Representative Nicole Collier Representative Joe Farias Representative Marsha Farney Representative Kyle Kacal Representative Sergio Muñoz, Jr. Senator Donna Campbell Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. Senator Larry Taylor Senator Kirk Watson

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Representative Ken King Senator Brian Birdwell Senator Royce West

Co-chair Representative Jim Murphy called the meeting to order at 10:10 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

Co-chair Senator Seliger and Co-chair Representative Murphy shared presiding duties.

Co-chair Senator Seliger moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearing held on September 5, 2014; without objection, it was so ordered.

Representative Howard was present at the hearing.

Opening remarks were made by Co-chair Representative Murphy, Co-chair Senator Seliger.

The Co-chairs called invited testimony on the interim charge relating to career and technical education's impact on high school graduation and the interim charge relating to high school career and technical education alignment with employer-based training (see attached witness list).

Co-chair Senator Seliger opened public testimony on the interim charges (see attached witness list).

Co-chair Senator Seliger then moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.

There being no further business, at 2:25 PM Co-chair Representative Murphy moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chairs. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Kel Seliger, Co-Chair

Representative Jim Murphy, Co-Chair

Sarah Harrington

Molly Quirk