## MINUTES

## JOINT COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION POLICY FOR A SKILLED WORKFORCE

Friday, September 5, 2014 10:00 AM E1.036 (Senate Finance Room)

\*\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to Rule 1, Texas House Rules and pursuant to Rule 11.03, Texas Senate Rules, a public hearing of the Joint Committee on Education Policy for a Skilled Workforce was held on Friday, September 5, 2014, in E1.036 (Senate Finance Room).

\*\*\*\*

## **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Representative Jim Murphy, Co-Chair Senator Kel Seliger, Co-Chair Representative Nicole Collier Representative Joe Farias Representative Marsha Farney Representative Kyle Kacal Representative Ken King Representative Sergio Muñoz, Jr. Senator Donna Campbell Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. Senator Larry Taylor Senator Kirk Watson Senator Royce West

## **MEMBERS ABSENT:** Senator Brian Birdwell

\*\*\*\*\*

Co-chair Senator Kel Seliger called the meeting to order at 10:06 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:

Co-chair Senator Seliger and Co-chair Representative Murphy shared presiding duties.

Co-chair Representative Murphy presented the committee rules and Senator Lucio moved adoption of the committee rules. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

Representative Howard was present at the hearing.

Opening remarks were made by Co-chair Representative Murphy, Co-chair Senator Seliger and Senator Lucio.

The Co-chairs called invited testimony on the interim charge relating to linking postsecondary education to the needs of the workforce and the interim charge relating to career and technical education's impact on high school graduation (see attached witness list).

Co-chair Representative Murphy opened public testimony on the two interim charges (see attached witness list).

The chair then moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.

There being no further business, at 1:53 PM Co-chair Senator Seliger moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

Senator Kel Seliger, Co-Chair

Representative Jim Murphy, Co-Chair

Sarah Harrington

Molly Quirk