This website will be unavailable from Thursday, May 30, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. through Monday, June 3, 2024 at 7:00 a.m. due to data center maintenance.

The House Committee on Transparency in State Agency Operations, Select

83rd Legislature

May 14, 2013

1:00 p.m. or upon final adjourn./recess

JHR 140


Pursuant to a notice posted on May 9, 2013, a suspension of the 5-day posting rule on May 13, 2013, and permission granted on May 14, 2013, to meet while the House was in session, the House Committee on Transparency in State Agency Operations, Select met in a public hearing and was called to order by the co-chair, Representative Dan Flynn, at 3:39 p.m.


The initial quorum call was answered as follows: Representatives Flynn; Johnson; Larson; Martinez Fischer; and Perry.


A quorum was present.



Representative Flynn opened the hearing and stated its purpose: to review the relationships between Texas universities and university-related foundations.


(Representative Alvarado now present.)


(Representative Alvarado in chair.)


Testimony taken/registration recorded.  (See attached witness list.)


(Representative Gonzalez, Naomi now present.)


(Representative Price now present.)



SB 1368


The chair laid out SB 1368.


The chair explained SB 1368.


Testimony taken/registration recorded.  (See attached witness list.)


The chair closed on SB 1368.


Representative Flynn moved that SB 1368, without amendments, be reported favorably to the full house with the recommendation that it do pass and be printed and be sent to the Committee on Local and Consent Calendars.  The motion prevailed by the following record vote:


Ayes:                           Representatives Alvarado; Flynn; Gonzalez, Naomi; Larson; Perry; Price (6).


Nays:                           None (0).


Present, Not Voting:   None (0).


Absent:                        Representatives Johnson; Martinez Fischer (2).













At 4:51 p.m., on the motion of the chair and without objection, the meeting was adjourned subject to the call of the chair.




Rep. Alvarado, Co-Chair




Rep. Flynn, Co-Chair




Kent Sholars, Clerk