H.B. No. 717
  relating to the duties of and the application of the professional
  prosecutors law to the county attorney in Lavaca County and to the
  duties of the district attorney for the 25th Judicial District.
         SECTION 1.  Section 43.112, Government Code, is amended to
  read as follows:
         Sec. 43.112.  25TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT. The voters of
  Gonzales and [,] Guadalupe Counties [, and Lavaca counties] elect a
  district attorney for the 25th Judicial District who represents the
  state in that district court only in those counties. In addition to
  exercising the duties and authority conferred on district attorneys
  by general law, the district attorney represents the state in all
  criminal cases in the district courts in those counties.
         SECTION 2.  Subchapter B, Chapter 45, Government Code, is
  amended by adding Section 45.243 to read as follows:
         Sec. 45.243.  LAVACA COUNTY. (a)  In Lavaca County, the
  county attorney of Lavaca County shall perform the duties imposed
  on and have the powers conferred on district attorneys by general
         (b)  The county attorney of Lavaca County or the
  Commissioners Court of Lavaca County may accept gifts or grants
  from any individual, partnership, corporation, trust, foundation,
  association, or governmental entity for the purpose of financing or
  assisting the operation of the office of county attorney in Lavaca
  County. The county attorney shall account for and report to the
  commissioners court all gifts or grants accepted under this
         SECTION 3.  Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to
  read as follows:
         Sec. 46.002.  PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER.  This chapter
  applies to the state prosecuting attorney, all county prosecutors,
  and the following state prosecutors:
               (1)  the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg
  Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd,
  25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th,
  39th, 42nd, 43rd, 46th, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd,
  64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th,
  97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 109th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th,
  123rd, 142nd, 143rd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th,
  216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th,
  271st, 286th, 329th, 344th, 349th, 355th, and 506th judicial
               (2)  the criminal district attorneys for the counties
  of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
  Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,
  Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo,
  Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro,
  Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith,
  Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker,
  Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
               (3)  the county attorneys performing the duties of
  district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
  Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Freestone, Lamar, Lamb,
  Lampasas, Lavaca, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris,
  Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Swisher,
  Terry, Webb, and Willacy.
         SECTION 4.  This Act takes effect September 1, 2013.
  ______________________________ ______________________________
     President of the Senate Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.B. No. 717 was passed by the House on May 1,
  2013, by the following vote:  Yeas 145, Nays 0, 1 present, not
  Chief Clerk of the House   
         I certify that H.B. No. 717 was passed by the Senate on May
  22, 2013, by the following vote:  Yeas 31, Nays 0.
  Secretary of the Senate    
  APPROVED:  _____________________