H.B. No. 696
  relating to the duties of and the application of the professional
  prosecutors law to the county attorney in Gonzales County and to the
  duties of the district attorney for the 25th Judicial District.
         SECTION 1.  Section 43.112, Government Code, is amended to
  read as follows:
         Sec. 43.112.  25TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT. The voters of
  [Gonzales,] Guadalupe[,] and Lavaca counties elect a district
  attorney for the 25th Judicial District who represents the state in
  the [that] district courts [court only] in those counties. In
  addition to exercising the duties and authority conferred on
  district attorneys by general law, the district attorney represents
  the state in all criminal cases in the district courts in those
         SECTION 2.  Subchapter B, Chapter 45, Government Code, is
  amended by adding Section 45.189 to read as follows:
         Sec. 45.189.  GONZALES COUNTY. (a)  In Gonzales County, the
  county attorney of Gonzales County shall perform the duties imposed
  on and have the powers conferred on district attorneys by general
         (b)  The county attorney of Gonzales County or the
  Commissioners Court of Gonzales County may accept gifts or grants
  from any individual, partnership, corporation, trust, foundation,
  association, or governmental entity for the purpose of financing or
  assisting the operation of the office of county attorney in
  Gonzales County. The county attorney shall account for and report
  to the commissioners court all gifts or grants accepted under this
         SECTION 3.  Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to
  read as follows:
         Sec. 46.002.  PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER.  This chapter
  applies to the state prosecuting attorney, all county prosecutors,
  and the following state prosecutors:
               (1)  the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg
  Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd,
  25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th,
  39th, 42nd, 43rd, 46th, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd,
  64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th,
  97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 109th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th,
  123rd, 142nd, 143rd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th,
  216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th,
  271st, 286th, 329th, 344th, 349th, 355th, and 506th judicial
               (2)  the criminal district attorneys for the counties
  of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
  Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,
  Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo,
  Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro,
  Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith,
  Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker,
  Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
               (3)  the county attorneys performing the duties of
  district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
  Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Freestone, Gonzales, 
  Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris,
  Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Swisher,
  Terry, Webb, and Willacy.
         SECTION 4.  This Act takes effect September 1, 2013.
  ______________________________ ______________________________
     President of the Senate Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.B. No. 696 was passed by the House on April
  26, 2013, by the following vote:  Yeas 138, Nays 1, 2 present, not
  Chief Clerk of the House   
         I certify that H.B. No. 696 was passed by the Senate on May
  22, 2013, by the following vote:  Yeas 31, Nays 0.
  Secretary of the Senate    
  APPROVED:  _____________________