#### **MINUTES**

## SENATE COMMITTEE ON REDISTRICTING, SELECT

Wednesday, February 16, 2011 1:30 PM Extension Auditorium, E1.004

\*\*\*\*

Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Redistricting, Select was held on Wednesday, February 16, 2011, in the Extension Auditorium, E1.004.

\*\*\*\*

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

# **MEMBERS ABSENT:** Senator Juan Hinojosa

Senator Kel Seliger, Chair

Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr., Vice Chair

Senator John Carona

Senator Kevin Eltife

Senator Craig Estes

Senator Troy Fraser

Senator Joan Huffman

Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.

Senator Dan Patrick

Senator Carlos Uresti

Senator Jeff Wentworth

Senator Royce West

**Senator Tommy Williams** 

Senator Judith Zaffirini

\*\*\*\*

The chair called the meeting to order at 1:31 PM. The following business was transacted:

The chair and members of the Committee gave opening remarks.

Senator Watson was present at the hearing and made remarks.

### **Senate Committee on Redistricting, Select**

Minutes Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Page 2

| The following members of the House of Repr | esentatives were | present at the | hearing and | made |
|--|------------------|----------------|-------------|------|
| remarks:                                   |                  |                |             |      |

Representative Solomons Representative Dukes Representative Rodriguez

The clerk called roll. A quorum was present.

Senator Wentworth moved adoption of the committee rules. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

The following invited witnesses testified:

Clare Dyer, Texas Legislative Council David Hanna, Texas Legislative Council

The chair opened public testimony. Witnesses who testified are shown on the attached list. After all witnesses were heard, public testimony was closed.

There being no further business, at 3:21 PM Senator Seliger moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.

| Senator Kel Seliger, Chair |  |
|----------------------------|--|
|                            |  |
| Mattie Murray, Clerk       |  |