Subcommittee on Interim Charge #9

Thursday, September 6, 2012

10:00 AM

Capitol Extension, Room E1.012




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Natural Resources Subcommittee on Interim Charge #9 was held on Thursday, September 6, 2012, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.012, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Glenn Hegar


Senator Juan Hinojosa

Senator Robert Nichols






The chair called the meeting to order at 10:00 AM. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


The subcommittee heard invited testimony from the following people:

Donna, Nelson, Chairwoman, Public Utility Commission

Trip Doggett, President and Chief Executive Officer, Electric Reliability Council of Texas

John Fainter, President, Association of Electric Companies of Texas

Phillip Oldham, Texas Association of Manufacturers

Cris Eugster, Executive Vice President & Chief Sustainability Officer, CPS Energy

Jeff Clark, Executive Director, Texas Wind Coalition

Maura Yates, Manager, Governmental Affairs, Sun Edison Corporation

Dub Taylor, Director State Energy Conservation Office

Cyrus Reed, Interim Director, Sierra Club

Tom “Smitty” Smith, Director, Texas Office, Public Citizen





Chairman Hegar opened up public testimony.  The committee heard from the following people:

Colin Meehan, representing Environmental Defense Fund, testified on Interim Charge #9

Karen Hadden, representing SEED Coalition, testified on Interim Charge #9.

Andrea Haughton, representing American Lung Association, registered on Interim Charge #9 but did not testify.


The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without objection, it was so ordered.


There being no further business, at 11:40 AM Senator Hegar moved that the Subcommittee on Interim Charge #9 be adjourned. Without objection, it was so ordered.









Senator Glen Hegar, Chair




Tara Rejino, Clerk