Tuesday, September 13, 2011

9:00 AM

Capitol Extension, Room E1.016




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Natural Resources was held on Tuesday, September 13, 2011, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.016, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Troy Fraser, Chair


Senator Craig Estes, Vice Chair

Senator Kevin Eltife


Senator Bob Deuell

Senator Juan Hinojosa


Senator Robert Duncan

Senator Mike Jackson


Senator Glenn Hegar

Senator Carlos Uresti


Senator Robert Nichols



Senator Kel Seliger




The chair called the meeting to order at 9:03 AM. The following business was transacted:


The following invited witnesses testified before the committee regarding the Environmental  Protection Agency’s Cross State Air Pollution Rule and its impact on electric generation and grid reliability in this state:


-Bryan Shaw, Chairman, Texas Commission on Environmental Quaility

-Trip Doggett, President and CEO, Electric Reliability Council of Texas

-Barry Smitherman, Commissioner, Railroad Commission of Texas

-Donna Nelson, Chairman, Public Utility Commission of Texas

-David Campbell, CEO, Luminant

-Riley Hill, President, Southwestern Public Service Company

-Tom Smith, Texas Director, Public Citizen

-Gary Gibbs, Manager, Environment and Government Affairs AEP Texas


There being no further business, at 11:35 AM Senator Fraser moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.





Senator Troy Fraser, Chair




Tatum Reagan, Clerk