Tuesday, September 25, 2012

10:00 AM

Capitol Extension, Room E1.036




Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.10 and 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was held on Tuesday, September 25, 2012, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Tommy Williams, Chair


Senator Bob Deuell

Senator Juan Hinojosa, Vice Chair


Senator Steve Ogden

Senator Robert Duncan


Senator Kel Seliger

Senator Kevin Eltife


Senator Florence Shapiro

Senator Craig Estes


Senator John Whitmire

Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.



Senator Jane Nelson



Senator Dan Patrick



Senator Royce West



Senator Judith Zaffirini






Senator Hinojosa called the meeting to order at 10:04 AM. The following business was transacted:


The clerk called roll. There was a quorum present.


Senator Williams assumed the chair at 10:36 AM.


Senator Nelson assumed the chair at 12:06 PM.


Senator Williams resumed the chair at 12:08 PM.


The Committee heard invited and public testimony on the following interim charges. The Committee was also briefed on local debt issues, specifically, Certificates of Obligation.

         Review the budget process to develop strategies for greater legislative efficiency and

transparency, including diversions of dedicated funding streams to alternative uses.

Include options for more user-friendly budget documents, additional notice of posting of

new information, and enhanced access to research and background information.


         Study cash management related to the timing of receipts of state revenues and

expenditures during the course of each fiscal year. Specifically, review methods of short term borrowing and intrafund borrowing, and estimated cash needs for the coming


Witnesses testifying and registering on the interim charges are shown on the attached list.


There being no further business, at 1:19 PM Senator Williams moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.









Senator Tommy Williams, Chair




Stephanie Hoover, Clerk