This website will be unavailable from Thursday, May 30, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. through Monday, June 3, 2024 at 7:00 a.m. due to data center maintenance.

  S.B. No. 816
  relating to the appointment and recommendations of the Border Trade
  Advisory Committee.
         SECTION 1.  Subsections (b) and (c), Section 201.114,
  Transportation Code, are amended to read as follows:
         (b)  The coordinator shall serve on the Border Trade Advisory
  Committee as presiding officer.  The commission shall appoint the
  other members of the committee, which to the extent practicable
  must include:
               (1)  the presiding officers, or persons designated by
  the presiding officers, of the policy boards of metropolitan
  planning organizations wholly or partly in the department's Pharr,
  Laredo, Odessa, or El Paso transportation district;
               (2)  the person serving, or a person designated by the
  person serving, in the capacity of executive director of each
  entity governing a port of entry in this state; [and]
               (3)  a representative each from at least two institutes
  or centers operated by a university in this state that conduct
  continuing research on transportation or trade issues; and
               (4)  the port director of the Port of Brownsville or the
  port director's designee.
         (c)  The commission shall establish the Border Trade
  Advisory Committee to define and develop a strategy and make
  recommendations to the commission and governor for addressing the
  highest priority border trade transportation challenges.  In
  determining action to be taken on the recommendations, the
  commission shall consider the importance of trade with the United
  Mexican States, potential sources of infrastructure funding at
  border ports, including maritime ports, and the value of trade
  activity in the department's districts adjacent to the border with
  the United Mexican States.
         SECTION 2.  This Act takes effect September 1, 2011.
  ______________________________ ______________________________
     President of the Senate Speaker of the House     
         I hereby certify that S.B. No. 816 passed the Senate on
  April 7, 2011, by the following vote:  Yeas 31, Nays 0.
  Secretary of the Senate    
         I hereby certify that S.B. No. 816 passed the House on
  May 13, 2011, by the following vote:  Yeas 144, Nays 0, one
  present not voting.
  Chief Clerk of the House