S.B. No. 577
  relating to the use of facsimile signatures for certain documents
  involving certain municipalities.
         SECTION 1.  Subdivision (3), Section 618.002, Government
  Code, is amended to read as follows:
               (3)  "Eligible contract" means a written evidence of
  agreement, including a contract, purchase order, and surety bond,
  and any related document, including an application, certificate,
  and approval, other than a public security or instrument of
  payment, that is executed, authenticated, certified, or endorsed
  for or on behalf of a home-rule municipality with a population of
  200,000 [1.9 million] or more.
         SECTION 2.  Subsection (b), Section 342.007, Health and
  Safety Code, is amended to read as follows:
         (b)  To obtain a lien against the property, the mayor,
  municipal health authority, or municipal official designated by the
  mayor must file a statement of expenses with the county clerk of the
  county in which the municipality is located. The lien statement
  must state the name of the owner, if known, and the legal
  description of the property. A signature on a lien statement may be
  a facsimile signature as defined by Section 618.002, Government
  Code.  The lien attaches upon the filing of the lien statement with
  the county clerk.
         SECTION 3.  This Act takes effect immediately if it receives
  a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as
  provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution.  If this
  Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this
  Act takes effect September 1, 2011.
  ______________________________ ______________________________
     President of the Senate Speaker of the House     
         I hereby certify that S.B. No. 577 passed the Senate on
  April 14, 2011, by the following vote:  Yeas 31, Nays 0.
  Secretary of the Senate    
         I hereby certify that S.B. No. 577 passed the House on
  May 23, 2011, by the following vote:  Yeas 144, Nays 0, two
  present not voting.
  Chief Clerk of the House