Amend CSSB 1420 (house committee printing) as follows:

- (1) On page 1, line 17, between "Subsections" and "(d)", insert "(a), (b),".
- (2) On page 1, between lines 18 and 19, insert the following:
- (a) The Texas Transportation Commission consists of five members, of whom:
- $\underline{\mbox{(1)}}$  three are appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate;
- (2) one is appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate, selected from a list of individuals provided by the speaker of the house of representatives; and
  - (3) one is appointed by the lieutenant governor.
- (b) The members shall be appointed to reflect the diverse geographic regions and population groups of this state. One member appointed by the governor under Subsection (a)(1) must reside in a rural area.
- (3) Add the following appropriately numbered SECTION to the bill and renumber subsequent SECTIONS of the bill accordingly:

SECTION \_\_\_\_\_. The appointment of members of the Texas Transportation Commission, as provided by Section 201.051(a), Transportation Code, as amended by this Act, shall be made as follows:

- (1) for the two terms expiring February 1, 2013, the governor and the lieutenant governor shall each make an appointment;
- (2) for the two terms expiring February 1, 2015, the governor shall make one appointment and the governor shall make one appointment selected from a list provided by the speaker of the house of representatives; and
- (3) for the term expiring February 1, 2017, the governor shall make the appointment.