Intergovernmental Relations
1:00 PM, Tuesday, April 06, 2010
Texas Southern University, Houston, TX
Senator Royce West
The Senate Intergovernmental Relations Committee will meet on Tuesday,
April 6, 2010 at 1:00 p.m. at Texas Southern University, Mickey Leland
Barbara Jordan School of Public Affairs, Lecture Hall 114, located at 3802
Tierwester, Houston, TX 77004 (at the corner of Tierwester St and Cleburne
St).  The Committee will hear invited and public testimony on the
following interim charges:
Senate Interim Charge 2:
Monitor the proliferation of municipal utility districts (MUDs) outside
the corporate limits or extraterritorial jurisdiction of municipalities
and whether increased oversight of these districts by other political
subdivisions is needed. Review the process for the creation of municipal
utility districts (MUDs) through the template developed during the 81st
Legislative Session, including any changes needed to increase the
efficiency and oversight over the creation of proposed districts. Review
the process for creating special districts, including whether the creation
of a template, similar to the one created for municipal utility districts
(MUDs), is feasible and would enable the legislature to more effectively
evaluate other proposed special districts during future Sessions.
Senate Interim Charge 4:
Assess ways to facilitate property ownership registration to better enable
individuals to participate in federal programs and make recommendations
to improve processing times to provide improved access to funds.
Senate Interim Charge 8:
Review the statutory authority granted to municipal management districts
(MMDs) and to emergency service districts (ESDs), the authority of
municipalities and counties to create public improvement districts (PIDs).
Determine whether the authority granted for each entity is adequate to
accomplish the goals of local governments. Assess whether the
consolidation of ESDs under one statute would improve uniformity and
provision of fire and emergency services through these districts.
*Public Testimony will be limited to 3 minutes.
** See Committee Coordinator for previous versions of the schedule **