Wednesday, February 11, 2009

8:00 a.m.

Capitol Extension, Room E1.012






Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Higher Education was held on Wednesday, February 11, 2009, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.012, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Judith Zaffirini, Chair

Senator Dan Patrick, Vice Chair

Senator Kip Averitt

Senator Robert Duncan

Senator Royce West





The chair called the meeting to order at 8:00 a.m.  There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted: 


The chair made opening remarks and noted that today's hearing was an organizational meeting to define priority issues, adopt committee rules, and introduce staff members.


The chair thanked Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst for elevating the Higher Education Subcommittee to a full committee and introduced committee members, namely, Senator Dan Patrick, vice chair; returning members, Senator Royce West and Senator Kip Averitt; and new committee member, Senator Robert Duncan.


The chair introduced committee staff for the 81st Legislative Session, namely, Dr. Warren von Eschenbach, committee director; Lauren Cook, committee clerk; Gonzalo Serrano, assistant clerk; Vincent Cho, policy analyst; Angelica Aguilar, Luna scholar; and Brent Whitaker, director of budget policy.


In addition she invited committee members to make opening remarks and introduce their committee staff, including Marian Wallace, Senator Patrick's office; Lajuana Barton, Senator West's office; Johanna Sheffield, Senator Averitt's office; and Porter Wilson, Senator Duncan's office. The chair also recognized John Opperman and Blaine Brunson, Lt. Governor's staff; Kate McGrath, David Young, and Marisha Negovetich, Governor's staff; and Dr. Raymund Paredes, Commissioner, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.


The chair laid out the proposed committee rules for consideration. Senator West moved their adoption. The motion was adopted by unanimous consent. 


There being no further business, at 8:09 a.m. Senator Patrick moved that the committee stand recessed, subject to the call of the chair. The motion was adopted by unanimous consent.






Senator Judith Zaffirini, Chair




Lauren Cook, Clerk