This website will be unavailable from Friday, April 26, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. through Monday, April 29, 2024 at 7:00 a.m. due to data center maintenance.




Tuesday, August 5, 2008

10:00 a.m.

Amarillo, Texas






Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Natural Resources was held on Tuesday, August 5, 2008, Region 16 Education Service Center Head Start Center Conference Center, 1601 S. Cleveland, Amarillo, TX 79102.







Senator Kip Averitt

Senator Craig Estes

Senator Kim Brimer

Senator Robert Duncan

Senator Kevin Eltife

Senator Juan Hinojosa

Senator Kel Seliger

Senator Carlos Uresti


Senator Bob Deuell

Senator Glenn Hegar

Senator Mike Jackson




The chair called the meeting to order at 10:08 a.m. There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted:


-Chairman Averitt offered opening comments.


-Senator Seliger offered welcoming comments.


-Amarillo Mayor Debra McCartt welcomed the Committee to Amarillo.


The following testified before the Committee:


-Kevin Ward, Executive Administrator, Texas Water Development Board

-Robert Mace, Director, Groundwater Resources Division, Texas Water Development Board

-Bill Mullican, Deputy Executive Administrator, Water Science and Conservation, Texas Water Development Board


-Kelly Mills, Team Leader, Groundwater Planning and Assessment Team, Water Supply Division, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality


-Greg Ellis, Executive Director, Texas Alliance of Groundwater Districts

-Monique Norman, Attorney-at-Law

-Brian Sledge, Attorney-at-Law, Lloyd Gosselink Rochelle & Townsend, P.C.

-Billy Howe, State Legislative Director, Texas Farm Bureau



-Danny Krienke, Board Member, North Plains GCD

-C.E. Williams, General Manager, Panhandle GCD

-Janet Guthrie, General Manager, Hemphill GCD



-Jason Coleman, General Manager, South Plains UWCD

-Jim Conkwright, General Manager, High Plains GCD

-Harvey Everhart, General Manager, Mesa UWCD

-Gary Walker, General Manager, Sandy Land UWCD


-Mike Mahoney, General Manager, Evergreen UWCD

-Janet Adams, General Manager, Jeff Davis and Presidio County UWCDs

-Mike Massey, General Manager, Upper Trinity GCD



-Kent Satterwhite, General Manager, CRMWA

-John Grant, General Manager, CRMWD

-Tom Adams, Deputy City Manager, City of Lubbock

-Jarrett Atkinson, Assistant City Manager, City of Amarillo


-Doug O. Johnson, PE, Manager for Injection-Storage Permits and Support, Technical Permitting Section, Oil and Gas Division, Railroad Commission of Texas


-Jason Hill, Attorney-at-Law, Lloyd Gosselink Rochelle & Townsend, P.C.



-Donna Warndof, Director of Public Affairs, TIPRO

-Bill Stevens, Executive Vice President, Texas Alliance of Energy Producers

-Jason Herrick, President of the Board of Directors, Panhandle Producers and Royalty Owners Association


-Janet Guthrie, General Manager, Hemphill UWCD


-Jay Ewing, Completion/Construction Supervisor- North Texas Operations, Devon Energy



-Bill Mullican, Deputy Executive Administrator, Water Science and Conservation, Texas Water Development Board

-Steve Kosub, Corporate Counsel-Water Resources, San Antonio Water System

-Jacob M. White, EIT, NRS Consulting Engineers


Public Testimony:

-Bob Harden, R.W. Harden and Associates


-Marvin Jones, John Duke, George Arrington, Mesa Water


-Bob Zimmer, North Plains GCD


-Mike McGuire, Rolling Plains GCD



There being no further business, Senator Averitt moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair. Without objection, it was so ordered.







Senator Kip Averitt, Chair




Teddy Carter, Clerk