This website will be unavailable from Friday, April 26, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. through Monday, April 29, 2024 at 7:00 a.m. due to data center maintenance.




Tuesday, July 8, 2008

10:00 a.m.

The Woodlands, Texas






Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Natural Resources was held on Tuesday, July 8, 2008, at the Lone Star College System Training and Development Center, Room 102, located at 5000 Research Forest Drive,  The Woodlands, Texas, 77381.







Senator Kip Averitt

Senator Kim Brimer

Senator Glenn Hegar

Senator Mike Jackson

Senator Kel Seliger


Senator Craig Estes

Senator Bob Deuell

Senator Robert Duncan

Senator Kevin Eltife

Senator Juan Hinojosa

Senator Carlos Uresti




The chair called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m.  The following business was transacted: 


The following testified before the committee:



-Keith Sheedy, Technical Advisor/Chief Engineer's Office, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality

-Richard Hyde, Director of Air Permits/Office of Permitting, Remediation, and Registration, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality


-Larry Soward, Commissioner, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality



-Kathleen Hartnett-White, Director, Center for Natural Resources at the Texas Public Policy Foundation

-Jed Anderson, Attorney, SIP Transformation Workgroup 



-Jay Dauenhauer, Manager, Policy & Research, Clean Coal Technology Foundation of Texas

-Steve Melzer, President, Texas Carbon Capture and Storage Association

-Dr. Tip Meckel, Research Associate, Gulf Coast Carbon Center, BEG



-John W. Fainter, Jr., President and CEO, Association of Electric Companies of Texas

-Christina Wisdom, Vice President and General Counsel, Texas Chemical Council

-Debbie Hastings, Vice President for Environmental Affairs, Texas Oil and Gas Association

-Mary Miksa, Senior Vice President - Governmental Affairs, Texas Association of Business

-Phillip Oldham, Energy Counsel, Texas Association of Manufacturers


-Tracy Hester, Lawyer in Renewable Energy, Defense, & Environmental law, Greater Houston Partnership



-Ramon Alvarez, Scientist, Environmental Defense

-Cyrus Reed, Conservation Director, Lone Star Chapter of Sierra Club

-Tom "Smitty" Smith, Director, Public Citizen

-Luke Metzger, Legislative Director, Environment Texas


Senator Hegar assumed the chair. 



-John W. Fainter, Jr., President and CEO, Association of Electric Companies of Texas

-Keith Sheedy, Technical Advisor/Chief Engineer's Office, TCEQ

-Alex Cuclis, Research Scientist, Houston Advanced Research Center

-Greg Kunkel, Senior Vice President and Chief Environmental Officer, Tenaska

-Suzi McClellan, Legislative Director, Good Company and Associates

-Allen Jones, Director, Water Resources Institute, Texas A&M University


Senator Averitt resumed the chair. 


Public Testimony:


-Matthew Tejada, GHASP

-Ned Munoz, Texas Association of Builders


There being no further business, Senator Averitt moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered. 







Senator Kip Averitt, Chair




Teddy Carter, Clerk