This website will be unavailable from Thursday, May 30, 2024 at 6:00 p.m. through Monday, June 3, 2024 at 7:00 a.m. due to data center maintenance.




Thursday, February 8, 2007

9:00 a.m.

Capitol Extension, Room E1.036






Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was held on Thursday, February 8, 2007, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Steve Ogden

Senator Judith Zaffirini

Senator Kip Averitt

Senator Bob Deuell

Senator Robert Duncan

Senator Kevin Eltife

Senator Troy Fraser

Senator Juan Hinojosa

Senator Kyle Janek

Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.

Senator Jane Nelson

Senator Florence Shapiro

Senator Royce West

Senator John Whitmire

Senator Tommy Williams








The chair, Senator Zaffirini, called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.  There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted: 


The chair laid out as pending business, SB 1.


Testimony was given on the following agencies.  Witnesses testifying and registering on the bill are shown on the attached list. 


Office of the Governor and Trusteed Programs

Texas Education Agency




Senator Ogden assumed the chair. 


Testimony continued.


Senator Zaffirini resumed the chair. 


Testimony continued.


Senator Zaffirini announced that at 12:15 p.m. the Committee would stand recessed until 1:00 p.m.; without objection, it was so ordered.


Testimony resumed.


The Committee recessed at 12:15 p.m.


Senator Zaffirini reconvened the Committee at 1:00 p.m.


Testimony on the following agencies resumed:


Texas Education Agency (continuation)

School for the Blind and Visually Impaired

School for the Deaf

Higher Education Coordinating Board

Community Colleges


Senator Zaffirini moved that SB 1 be left pending; without objection, it was so ordered. 


There being no further business, at 4:55 p.m. Senator Zaffirini moved that the Committee stand recessed until 9:00 a.m., February 12, 2007.  Without objection, it was so ordered. 







Senator Steve Ogden, Chair




Amy Jeter, Clerk