S.B. No. 1912
  relating to certification of educators from outside the state.
         SECTION 1.  Section 21.052, Education Code, is amended by
  adding Subsections (c) and (d) to read as follows:
         (c)  The board may issue a temporary certificate under this
  section to an educator who holds a degree required by Subsection
  (a)(1) and a certificate or other credential required by Subsection
  (a)(2) but who has not satisfied the requirements prescribed by
  Subsection (a)(3). Subject to Subsection (d), the board may
  specify the term of a temporary certificate issued under this
         (d)  A temporary certificate issued under Subsection (c) to
  an educator employed by a school district that has constructed or
  expanded at least one instructional facility as a result of
  increased student enrollment due to actions taken under the Defense
  Base Closure and Realignment Act of 1990 (10 U.S.C. Section 2687)
  may not expire before the first anniversary of the date on which the
  board completes the review of the educator's credentials and
  informs the educator of the examination or examinations under
  Section 21.048 on which the educator must perform successfully to
  receive a standard certificate.
         SECTION 2.  This Act takes effect immediately if it receives
  a vote of two-thirds of all the members elected to each house, as
  provided by Section 39, Article III, Texas Constitution.  If this
  Act does not receive the vote necessary for immediate effect, this
  Act takes effect September 1, 2007.
  ______________________________ ______________________________
     President of the Senate Speaker of the House     
         I hereby certify that S.B. No. 1912 passed the Senate on
  April 18, 2007, by the following vote: Yeas 31, Nays 0; and that
  the Senate concurred in House amendment on May 25, 2007, by the
  following vote: Yeas 30, Nays 0.
  Secretary of the Senate    
         I hereby certify that S.B. No. 1912 passed the House, with
  amendment, on May 23, 2007, by the following vote: Yeas 144,
  Nays 0, two present not voting.
  Chief Clerk of the House