Monday, May 16, 2005 
                           11:00 a.m. or upon adjournment 
                                   Senate Chamber 
         Pursuant to suspension of Senate Rules 11.10 and 11.18, a public  
         hearing of the Senate Committee on Transportation and Homeland  
         Security was held on Monday, May 16, 2005, in the Senate Chamber  
         at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Todd Staples                    Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator Kim Brimer 
         Senator Rodney Ellis 
         Senator Jon Lindsay 
         Senator Frank Madla 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Jeff Wentworth 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 1:44 p.m.   
         At 1:45 p.m. there being a quorum present, the clerk called the  
         At 1:45 p.m. Senator Barrientos assumed the chair.   
         The chair laid out HB 2702 and recognized the Senate sponsor,  
         Senator Staples, to explain the bill.  Senator Staples sent up a  
         committee substitute; the chair recognized Senator Staples to  
         explain the difference between the committee substitute and the  
         bill as engrossed.  Senator Staples moved adoption of the  
         committee substitute; without objection, it was so ordered.   
         With no witness cards being turned in for persons registering  
         and/or wishing to testify, no public testimony was taken.   
         Senator Staples moved that HB 2702 do not pass but that CSHB  
         2702 be reported back to the Senate with the recommendation that  
         it do pass and be printed.  The motion carried with a record  
         vote of 7 ayes, 0 nay, 0 present not voting, and 2 absent.   
         At 1:48 p.m. Senator Staples resumed the chair. 
         There being no further business, at 1:49 p.m. Senator Staples  
         moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Todd Staples, Chair 
         Patricia Gajda, Clerk