SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION 
                              Wednesday, June 22, 2005 
                                     9:30 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.028 
         Pursuant to suspension of Senate Rule 11.18, a public hearing of  
         the Senate Committee on Education was held on Wednesday, June  
         22, 2005, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.028, at Austin,  
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Florence Shapiro                None 
         Senator Royce West 
         Senator Kip Averitt 
         Senator Kyle Janek 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Leticia Van de Putte 
         Senator Tommy Williams 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         On Tuesday, June 21, 2005, Senator Shapiro suspended the posting  
         rule, Senate Rule 11.18, so that the Senate Committee on  
         Education could hear the following bill:  SB 2 by Shapiro 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 9:42 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:  
         Senator West moved adoption of the committee rules, without  
         objection, the rules were adopted. 
         The chair explained SB 2 and the proposed committee substitute  
         to SB 2.   
         The Committee members began discussion on SB 2 by Senator  
         Witnesses testifying and registering on the bill are shown on  
         the attached list.   
         At 11:55 a.m. Senator Shapiro moved that the committee stand  
         recessed until 1:30 p.m; without objection, it was so ordered.   
         At 1:55 p.m. the committee reconvened.  Discussion and public  
         testimony continued on SB 2. 
         The chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without  
         objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Shapiro moved that SB 2 be left pending. 
         There being no further business, at 3:35 p.m. Senator Shapiro  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Florence Shapiro, Chair 
         Tara Korstad, Clerk