Thursday, February 10, 2005 
                           10:30 a.m. or upon adjournment 
                      Betty King Committee Hearing Room, 2E.20 
         Pursuant to suspension of Senate Rule 11.18, moved by Senator  
         Brimer, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on  
         Intergovernmental Relations was held on Thursday, February 10,  
         2005, in the Betty King Committee Hearing Room, 2E.20, at  
         Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Kim Brimer                      Senator Frank Madla 
         Senator Bob Deuell 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr. 
         Senator Jeff Wentworth 
         Senator Kim Brimer, the acting chair, called the meeting to  
         order at 10:58 a.m.  There being a quorum present, the following  
         business was transacted:   
         Senator Gallegos, Jr. moved adoption of the minutes from the  
         previous hearing held on February 2, 2005 and Senator Deuell  
         seconded the motion; without objection, it was so ordered.   
         The posting rule, Senate Rule 11.18, was suspended to hear the  
         following bill(s):  
         The chair laid out SB 340 and recognized the author, Senator  
         Whitmire, to explain the bill.  Witnesses testifying and  
         registering on the bill are shown on the attached list.  The  
         chair moved that the public testimony be closed; without  
         objection, it was so ordered.  Senator Gallegos, Jr. moved that  
         SB 340 be reported favorably to the Senate with the  
         recommendation that it do pass and be printed.  The motion  
         carried with a record vote of 4 ayes, 0 nay, 0 present not  
         voting, and 1 absent.   
         There being no further business, at 11:08 a.m. Senator Brimer  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Kim Brimer, Acting Chair 
         Christine Wright, Clerk