Wednesday, September 8, 2004 
                                     10:00 a.m. 
                          Gorgas Boardroom, UT Brownsville 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Water Policy,  
         Select Interim was held on Wednesday, September 8, 2004, in the  
         Gorgas Boardroom, UT Brownsville 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister              Senator Jon Lindsay 
         Senator Kip Averitt                     Senator Bob Deuell 
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.                Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Frank Madla                     Senator Troy Fraser 
                                                 Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
                                                 Senator Todd Staples 
                                                 Senator Tommy Williams 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 10:15 a.m.  The  
         following business was transacted:  
         Senator Armbrister made opening remarks with a brief overview of  
         the committee's charges and introduced Mayor Eddie Trevino for  
         opening remarks.  The Chair then recognized Dr. Juliet Garcia,  
         President of the University of Texas at Brownsville.  The Chair  
         then recognized Senator Madla for and update on the Subcommittee  
         on Lease of State Water Rights.   
         The Chair recognized the following for invited testimony:  
         Buck Henderson, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality  
         Jack Colley, State Coordinator, Governor's Division of Emergency  
         Jim Darling, City Attorney, City of McAllen  
         Charles Amos, McAllen Public Utility Board  
         Roel Rodriguez, General Manager, Public Utility Board  
         Kevin Ward, Executive Administrator, Texas Water Development  
          Carlos Rubenstein, Regional Director, Texas Commission on  
         Environmental Quality 
         Jimmie Steidinger  
         Wayne Halbert 
         Jo Jo White  
         Bobby Sparks 
         The Chair then opened public testimony and recognized the  
         following.  See attached list for complete list of witnesses.  
         There being no further business to come before the committee, at  
         1:50, the Chair moved the committee stand recessed subject to  
         the call of the Chair.  There being no objection, it was so  
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister  
         Kelly C. Gilbert, Committee Clerk