Thursday, August 12, 2004 
                                     10:00 a.m. 
               Tx Tech International Cultural Center, Lubbock, Texas 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Water Policy,  
         Select Interim was held on Thursday, August 12, 2004, in the Tx  
         Tech International Cultural Center, Lubbock, Texas 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister              Senator Kip Averitt 
         Senator Robert Duncan                   Senator Bob Deuell 
         Senator Troy Fraser                     Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Jon Lindsay                     Senator Frank Madla 
                                                 Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
                                                 Senator Todd Staples 
                                                 Senator Tommy Williams 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 10:23 a.m.  The  
         following business was transacted:   
         Senator Armbrister recognized Senator Duncan for welcoming  
         remarks and introduction of Council Member Jim Gilbreath with  
         the City of Lubbock and Dr. Jon Whitmore, President, Texas Tech  
         University.  Senator Armbrister then recognized Senator Duncan  
         to give an overview of the Texas Water Advisory Council and the  
         Water Conservation Task Force.  
         The Chair then recognized the following for invited testimony:  
         Dr. Gabriel Eckstein, Professor, Texas Tech Law School  
         Bill Mullican, Texas Water Development Board  
         C.E. Williams, General Manager, Panhandle Groundwater  
         Conservation District, Chair Region A  
         Bo Brown, Chair Region O  
         John Grant, General Manager, Colorado River Municipal Water  
         District and Region  F 
         Kent Satterwhite, Canadian River Municipal Water Authority 
         Jim Conkwright, High Plains Underground Water Conservation District #1 
         Ches Carthel, Lubbock Water Commission 
         Drew Darby, San Angelo Water Advisory Board  
         The Chair then recognized the following for public testimony (see attached for complete list of witnesses). 
         There being no further business at 4:05pm, the Chair moved the  
         Committee stand recessed, subject to the call  
         of the chair, without objection, it was so ordered.  
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister, Chairman 
         Kelly C. Gilbert, Committee Clerk