Wednesday, March 31, 2004 
                                     10:30 a.m. 
                                 Montgomery College 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Water Policy,  
         Select Interim was held on Wednesday, March 31, 2004, in the  
         Montgomery College 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister              Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Kip Averitt                     Senator Frank Madla 
         Senator Bob Deuell                      Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator Jon Lindsay 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Tommy Williams            
         The chair called the meeting to order at 10:35 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         The Chair thanked  Montgomery College for hosting the committee. 
         The Chair explained the Select Committee on Water Policy  
         The following invited testimony was given: 
              Carolyn Brittin, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
              Dean Robbins, Texas Water Conversation Association 
              Jimmy Schindewolf, North Harris Regional Water Authority 
              Jim Adams, San Jacinto River Authority 
              Fred LeBlanc, The Woodlands Operating Co., L.P. 
              Boone Pickens, Mesa Water, Inc. 
              Marvin Jones, Sprouse Shrader Smith P.C. 
         Public testimony was then given.  A complete witness list is  
         The Chair announced that the next meeting of the committee would  
         be in Lubbock on April 21, 2004. 
         There being no further business, at 3:30 p.m. Senator Armbrister  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister, Chair 
         RuthAnn Nicholson, Clerk