Tuesday, February 3, 2004 
                                     10:30 a.m. 
          Natural Gas Conference Center, University of Texas, El Paso, El  
                                      Paso, TX 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Water Policy,  
         Select Interim was held on Tuesday, February 3, 2004, in the  
         Natural Gas Conference Center, University of Texas, El Paso, El  
         Paso, TX 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister              Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Kip Averitt                     Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator Bob Deuell                      Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Jon Lindsay                     Senator Tommy Williams 
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Frank Madla 
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 10:40 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         The Chair recognized Senators Shapleigh and Madla to make  
         comments welcoming everyone to El Paso. 
         The Chair introduced Mayor Joe Wardy of El Paso, County  
         Commissioner Miguel Teran, Representatives Norma Chavez, Pat  
         Haggerty, and Chente Quintanilla and thanked them for attending  
         the hearing. 
         The Chair explained the charges. 
         The following invited testimony was given: 
         Commissioner Jerry Patterson, General Land Office 
         Representatives of Rio Nuevo, Ltd. 
         Ed Archuleta, El Paso Public Service Board 
         Ari Michelsen, Agricultural Research and Extension Center, Texas  
         A&M University 
         John Ashworth, LBG Guyton & Associates 
         Tom Beard, Far West Regional Water Planning Group 
         Bill Mullican, Texas Water Development Board 
         Dr. Larry McKinney, Texas Parks & Wildlife Department 
         Herman Settemeyer and Carolyn Brittin, Texas Commission on  
         Environmental Quality 
         Public testimony was given following all invited testimony. 
         A complete witness list is attached. 
         The Chair announced the next hearing in San Antonio, TX on  
         Wednesday, February 18, 2004. 
         There being no further business, at 6:15 p.m. Senator Armbrister  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister, Chair 
         RuthAnn Nicholson, Clerk