Monday, May 24, 2004 
                                     10:00 a.m. 
                      Betty King Committee Hearing Room, 2E.20 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Veteran  
         Affairs & Military Installations was held on Monday, May 24,  
         2004, in the Betty King Committee Hearing Room, 2E.20, at  
         Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Leticia Van de Putte, Chair     Senator Craig Estes 
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh                 Senator Troy Fraser 
                                                 Senator Kel Seliger 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m.  The  
         following business was transacted:   
         Senator Van de Putte made opening remarks and recognized Senator  
         Shapleigh for opening remarks.  The Chair then introduced  
         children visiting the Capitol from California, who led the  
         recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance.   
         Senator Van de Putte called the invited witnesses testifying on  
         the Texas Military Forces, who are listed on the attached  
         Witness List.                                           
         The Chair recognized Jennie Costilow, Committee Director,  who  
         introduced the Committee staff, namely, David Holmes, Policy  
         Analyst, Sara Gonzalez, Committee Clerk, and Jason Lawhorn, LBJ  
         School of Public Affairs Intern.  The Chair recognized and  
         congratulated Sara Gonzalez for her recent graduation from The  
         University of Texas at Austin. 
         Senator Van de Putte then called the last invited witness, who  
         testified on Committee charge # 1.  
         There being no further business, at 11:20 a.m., Senator Van de  
         Putte moved that the Committee be adjourned. Without objection,  
         it was so ordered.   
         Senator Leticia Van de Putte, Chair 
         Sara Gonzalez, Clerk