Thursday, April 29, 2004 
                           10:00 a.m. or upon adjournment 
                      Betty King Committee Hearing Room, 2E.20 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Veteran  
         Affairs & Military Installations was held on Thursday, April 29,  
         2004, in the Betty King Committee Hearing Room, 2E.20, at  
         Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Leticia Van de Putte (Chair)    Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator Craig Estes                     Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
         Senator Kel Seliger 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 10:16 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         The Chair laid out the proposed interim Committee rules.   
         Senator Estes moved the adoption of the interim rules, and  
         Senator Seliger seconded the motion.  There being no objection,  
         the interim Committee rules were adopted.   
         Senator Van de Putte made opening remarks and announced that the  
         purpose of the hearing was to take testimony on interim  
         Committee charge # 3, relating to legislation passed during the  
         78th Regular Session, House Bills 261 and 591.  The Chair  
         recognized the new member of the Committee, Senator Kel Seliger,  
         who was recognized for brief remarks.   
         The Chair recognized David Holmes of the Committee staff, who  
         introduced 6th grade students from Dallas who led the recitation  
         of the Pledge of Allegiance.   
         Persons who provided invited and public testimony on interim  
         charge # 3 and on base realignment and closure are listed on the  
         attached Witness List. 
         The Chair recognized Jennie Costilow, Committee Director, who  
         introduced Committee staff, namely, David Holmes, Policy Analyst
	 and Sara Gonzalez, Committee Clerk. 
         There being no further business, at 11:53 a.m., Senator 
	 Van de Putte moved that the Committee be recessed, subject to the
	 call of the Chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.  
         Senator Leticia Van de Putte, Chair 
         Sara Gonzalez, Clerk