Thursday, August 5, 2004 
                                     10:00 a.m. 
                       N. Tx Tollway Authority, Plano, Texas 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Natural  
         Resources was held on Thursday, August 5, 2004, at the N. Tx  
         Tollway Authority in Plano, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister              Senator Gonzalo  
         Senator Mike Jackson                    Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Craig Estes                     Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator Jon Lindsay                     Senator Juan Hinojosa 
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr.                Senator Frank Madla 
                                                 Senator Todd Staples 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 10:25 a.m.  The  
         following business was transacted:   
         Senator Armbrister thanked the North Texas Tollway Authority for  
         the use of their facility.  He then gave a brief overview of the  
         charges for the Senate Natural Resources Committee and discussed  
         future meeting dates.   
         The Chair recognized the Mayor of Plano,  The Honorable Pat  
         Evans for welcoming remarks.  The Chair then recognized the  
         Chairman of the North Texas Tollway Authority, Donald D. Dillard  
         for welcoming remarks.  
         The Chair then introduced invited testimony from  The Honorable  
         Judge Ron Harris, Collin County, The Honorable Judge Mary Horn,  
         Denton County, Mike Eastland, North Central Texas Council of  
         Governments, Commissioner Marquez from the Texas Commission on  
         Environmental Quality,  Carl Edlund with the Environmental  
         Protection Agency, George Beatty, Jr. with the Texas  
         Environmental Research Consortium, Gary Thomas with the Dallas  
         Area Rapid Transit, Jim Crites, with the Dallas/Fort Worth  
         Airport, Dana Blume with the Port of Houston, Scheleen Walker  
         with Early Action Compact Task Force, Wade Stansell, Manager of  
         Environmental Strategy at TXU, Jennifer Newton with the  
         Association of General Contractors, Jerry James, the Director of  
         Environmental Services for the City of Victoria, Ramon Alvarez  
         with Environmnetal Defense, Dub Taylor with the State Energy  
         Conservation Office, Bahman Yazdani with the Texas Engineering  
         Experiment Station. 
         The Chair then opened public testimony.  A complete witness list  
         is attached.     
         There being no further business , at 4:55pm, Senator Armbrister  
         moved the Senate Natural Resource Committee stand recessed  
         subject to the call of the Chair.  There being no objection, it  
         was so ordered.  
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister, Chairman  
         Kelly C. Gilbert, Committee Clerk