Tuesday, March 30, 2004 
                                     10:30 a.m. 
              Houston Firefighters' Relief & Retirement Fund Building 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Natural  
         Resources was held on Tuesday, March 30, 2004, in the Houston  
         Firefighters' Relief & Retirement Fund 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister              Senator Gonzalo  
         Senator Mike Jackson                    Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Craig Estes                     Senator Juan Hinojosa 
         Senator Troy Fraser                     Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Jon Lindsay                     Senator Florence Shapiro 
                                                 Senator Todd Staples 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 10:35 a.m.  The  
         following business was transacted:   
         The Chair thanked Senator Whitmire's office for helping arrange  
         the meeting place.  He also thanked the Houston Firefighters'  
         Relief and Retirement Fund for hosting the committee. 
         The Chair explained the Committee Rules.  Senator Fraser moved  
         adoption, there being no objection, the rules were adopted.   
         The Chair explained the purpose of interim committee hearings.   
         He then went over the interim charges of the National Resources  
         The following invited testimony was given: 
              Commissioner Ralph Marquez, Texas Commission on  
         Environmental Quality 
              Anne Culver, Texas Clean Air Working Group 
              Bill Peacock, Texas General Land Office 
              Wade Wheatley, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 
         Public testimony was then given.  A complete witness list is  
         The Chair announced the next meeting in Dallas on June 2, 2004. 
         There being no further business, at 12:40 p.m. Senator  
         Armbrister moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to  
         the call of the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister, Chair 
         RuthAnn Nicholson, Clerk