Thursday, February 6, 2003 
                                     1:00 p.m. 
                                   Senate Chamber 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Natural  
         Resources was held on Thursday, February 6, 2003, in the Senate  
         Chamber at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister              Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator Mike Jackson                    Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Craig Estes 
         Senator Juan Hinojosa 
         Senator Jon Lindsay 
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Florence Shapiro                 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 1:05 p.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         Senator Armbrister introduced committee staff. 
         The Chair presented the Committee Rules.  Senator Lucio moved  
         adoption of the Committee Rules.  There being no objection, the  
         rules were unanimously adopted. 
         The Chair then introduced Margaret Hoffman, Executive Director  
         of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality to give an  
         overview of the agency. 
         Kevin Ward, Executive Administrator of the Texas Water  
         Development Board gave an overview of the agency. 
         Bob Cook and Larry McKinney then gave an overview of the Texas  
         Parks and Wildlife Department.   
         There being no further business, at 3:00 p.m. Senator Armbrister  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister, Chair 
         Kelly Gilbert, Clerk