Monday, March 29, 2004 
                                     11:00 a.m. 
                                   Senate Chamber 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public meeting of the Senate Committee on Jurisprudence  
         was held on Monday, March 29, 2004, in the Senate Chamber at  
         Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Jeff Wentworth                  Senator Mario Gallegos,  
         Senator Kip Averitt                     Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Chris Harris                     
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Royce West                       
         The chair called the meeting to order at 11:10 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         The chair laid out the Senate Jurisprudence Committee Rules.   
         Senator Lucio moved adoption of the rules and Senator Harris  
         seconded the motion;  without objection, it was so ordered. 
         The chair gave opening remarks and introduced his staff. 
         The chair laid out Charge 2:  Study judicial salaries,  
         supplements, retirement, and benefit issues for sitting,  
         visiting and retired judges. 
         The following witnesses testified: 
         The Honorable Thomas Phillips, Chief Justice, Texas Supreme  
         The Honorable Linda Thomas, Chief Justice, Fifth Appellate  
         The Honorable Phil Johnson, Chief Justice, Seventh Appellate  
         The Honorable Stephen Ables, Presiding Judge, Sixth  
              Administrative Region; 216th District  
         The Honorable Patricia Lykos, Senior District Judge 
         Alicia Key, Executive Director, Office of Court Administration 
         William Nail, Deputy Executive Director, Employees Retirement  
         There being no further business, at 12:06 p.m. Senator Wentworth  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Jeff Wentworth, Chair 
         Stephanie Hoover, Clerk