SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                               Thursday, May 8, 2003 
                           Upon adjournment of the Senate 
                                   Senate Chamber 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Thursday, May 8, 2003, in the Senate Chamber at Austin,  
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Teel Bivins                     Senator Gonzalo  
         Senator Judith Zaffirini                Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Kip Averitt                     Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
         Senator Kim Brimer                      Senator Royce West 
         Senator Robert Duncan                   Senator Tommy Williams 
         Senator Kyle Janek 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator John Whitmire 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 2:19 p.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         The chair laid out CSSB 823 and recognized the author, Senator  
         Fraser, to explain the bill.  The committee substitute was  
         adopted at a previous hearing.  Senator Brimer moved that SB 823  
         do not pass but that CSSB 823 be reported back to the Senate  
         with the recommendation that it do pass and be printed.  The  
         motion carried with a record vote of 10 ayes, 0 nay, 0 present  
         not voting, and 5 absent.  Senator Janek moved that the bill be  
         recommended for placement on the Local & Uncontested Calendar;  
         without objection, it was so ordered.   
         There being no further business, at 2:27 p.m. Senator Janek  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair 
         Stephanie Hoover, Clerk