SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                              Thursday, April 10, 2003 
                                     9:00 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Thursday, April 10, 2003, in the Capitol Extension, Room  
         E1.036, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Teel Bivins                     Senator Gonzalo  
         Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         Senator Kip Averitt 
         Senator Kim Brimer 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Kyle Janek 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Royce West 
         Senator John Whitmire 
         Senator Tommy Williams 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         Testimony was given on the following agencies with witnesses on  
         the attached list: 
         Article III - Public Education 
         Workgroup motions were given by Senator Shapiro 
         State Board for Educator Certification - Committee adopted  
         workgroup recommendations. 
         Texas School for the Blind and Visually Impaired - Committee  
         adopted workgroup recommendations. 
         Texas School for the Deaf - Committee adopted workgroup  
         Article III - Higher Education 
         Workgroup presentation was given by Senator West 
         Higher Education Coordinating Board 
         Higher Education Fund 
         Available University Fund      
         Texas Excellence Fund 
         University Research Fund 
         General Academic Institutions, System Office, and Two-Year  
         Health-Related Institutions 
         At 9:53 a.m. Senator Bivins moved that the committee stand  
         recessed until 30 minutes after adjournment of the Senate;  
         without objection, it was so ordered.   
         At 1:32 p.m. the committee reconvened.   
         Senator West continued the workgroup presentation on Higher  
         Public Community/Junior Colleges  
         Texas State Technical College System 
         Texas Ag. Experiment Station 
         Texas Cooperative Extension 
         Texas Engineering Experiment Station 
         Texas Transportation Institute 
         Texas Engineering Experiment Station 
         Texas Transportation Institute 
         Texas Engineering Extension Service 
         Texas Forest Service 
         Texas Wildlife Damage Management Service 
         Texas Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Lab 
         Texas Food and Fibers Commission 
         Special Provisions 
         Tobacco Funds for Article III 
         At 1:54 p.m. the committee stood at ease to await a quorum. 
         At 2:05 p.m. the committee reconvened.   
         The following members gave a motion in writing and asked to be  
         shown voting aye on Article III, Public Education: 
         Senator Averitt and Senator Brimer.   
         Senator West moved adoption of a rider that would call for a  
         portion of the TEXAS Grants appropriation to be awarded as  
         Tuition Equalization Grants (TEG).  Without objection, the rider  
         was adopted.    
         Senator West moved that the full committee adopt the workgroup  
         recommendations for Article III, Higher Education.  There was a  
         roll call vote.  The motion carried with a record vote of 12  
         ayes, 0 nay, 0 present not voting, and 3 absent.  
         There being no further business, at 2:12 p.m. Senator Bivins                                                                             
         moved that the Committee stand recessed until 8:00 a.m. the  
         following morning.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair 
         Stephanie Hoover, Clerk