SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                               Tuesday, April 8, 2003 
                                     9:00 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Tuesday, April 8, 2003, in the Capitol Extension, Room  
         E1.036, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Teel Bivins                     Senator Kip Averitt 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini                 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator Kim Brimer 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Kyle Janek 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Royce West 
         Senator John Whitmire 
         Senator Tommy Williams 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 9:10 a.m.  The  
         committee was in recess.  The following business was transacted:   
         Testimony was given on the following agencies with witnesses on  
         the attached list: 
         Article V - Public Safety and Criminal Justice 
         Workgroup presentation was given by Senator Whitmire 
         Adjutant General's Department   
         Alcoholic Beverage Commission   
         Texas Department of Criminal Justice  
         Criminal Justice Policy Council 
         Commission of Fire Protection 
         Commission on Jail Standards 
         Juvenile Probation Commission 
         Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Education 
         Military Facilities Commission 
         Commission on Private Security           
         Texas Department of Public Safety 
         Texas Youth Commission         
         Senator Whitmire moved that the full committee adopt the  
         workgroup recommendations for Article V with the exception of  
         Senator Ogden's request to leave the Alcoholic Beverage  
         Commission component pending.  There was a roll call vote.  The  
         motion carried with a record vote of 11 ayes, 0 nay, 0 present  
         not voting, and 4 absent.  
         Senator Bivins moved that the vote be left open for 10 minutes  
         stating this would not change the outcome of the vote.  Without  
         objection; it was so ordered.  Senator Shapiro and Senator  
         Staples asked to be shown voting aye.  The record vote was 13  
         ayes, 0 nay, 0 present not voting, and 2 absent. 
         There being no further business, at 10:40 a.m. Senator Bivins  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair 
         Stephanie Hoover, Clerk