SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                              Wednesday, March 5, 2003 
                                     8:00 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Wednesday, March 5, 2003, in the Capitol Extension, Room  
         E1.036, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Teel Bivins                     None 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         Senator Kip Averitt 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator Kim Brimer 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Kyle Janek 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Royce West 
         Senator John Whitmire 
         Senator Tommy Williams 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 8:04 a.m.  The  
         committee was in recess from the previous day.  The following  
         business was transacted:   
         Testimony was given on the following agencies with witnesses on  
         the attached list:   
         University of Houston System Administration 
         University of Houston 
         University of Houston - Clear Lake 
         University of Houston - Downtown 
         University of Houston - Victoria 
         Texas A&M System Administration and General Offices 
         Texas A&M University 
         At 10:43 a.m. Senator Bivins moved that the committee stand  
         recessed until one hour after adjournment of the Senate; without  
         objection, it was so ordered.   
         At 1:23 p.m. the committee reconvened.   
         At 1:23 p.m. Senator Ogden assumed the chair.   
         Texas A&M University at Galveston 
         Prairie View A&M University 
         At 1:41 p.m. Senator Bivins resumed the chair.   
         Tarleton State University 
         Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi 
         At 2:05 p.m. Senator Zaffirini assumed the chair.   
         Texas A&M - Kingsville 
         At 2:17 p.m. Senator Bivins resumed the chair.   
         Texas A&M International University 
         West Texas A&M University      
         Texas A&M - Commerce 
         Texas A&M - Texarkana 
         Texas Agricultural Experiment Station 
         Texas Cooperative Extension 
         Texas Forest Service 
         Texas Wildlife Damage Management Service 
         Texas Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory 
         Texas Engineering Experiment Station 
         Texas Transportation Institute 
         Texas Engineering Extension Service 
         Texas Food and Fiber Commission 
         There being no further business, at 4:30 p.m. Senator Bivins  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed until 8:00 a.m. the  
         following morning.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair 
         Stephanie Hoover, Clerk