SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                               Tuesday, March 4, 2003 
                                     8:00 a.m. 
                           Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Tuesday, March 4, 2003, in the Capitol Extension, Room  
         E1.036, at Austin, Texas. 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Teel Bivins                     Senator John Whitmire 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         Senator Kip Averitt 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator Kim Brimer 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Kyle Janek 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Florence Shapiro 
         Senator Eliot Shapleigh 
         Senator Todd Staples 
         Senator Royce West 
         Senator Tommy Williams 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 8:02 a.m.  The  
         committee was in recess from the previous day.  The following  
         business was transacted:   
         Testimony was given on the following agencies with witnesses on  
         the attached list: 
         Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board 
         At 9:25 a.m. Senator Duncan assumed the chair.   
         Available University Fund 
         Higher Education Fund     
         Texas Excellence Fund     
         University Research Fund 
         University of Texas System Introduction 
         At 10:16 a.m. Senator Barrientos assumed the chair.   
         At 10:17 a.m. Senator Duncan assumed the chair.   
         University of Texas at Arlington 
         At 10:34 a.m. Senator Bivins resumed the chair.   
         At 10:48 a.m. Senator Bivins moved that the committee stand  
         recessed until one hour after adjournment of the Senate; without  
         objection, it was so ordered.   
         At 2:47 p.m. the committee reconvened.   
         University of Texas at Austin 
         University of Texas at Dallas 
         University of Texas at El Paso 
         University of Texas - Pan American 
         University of Texas at Brownsville 
         University of Texas of the Permian Basin 
         University of Texas at San Antonio 
         University of Texas at Tyler 
         Texas Tech University System 
         Texas Tech University 
         University of North Texas System 
         University of North Texas 
         There being no further business, at 5:55 p.m. Senator Bivins  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair 
         Stephanie Hoover, Clerk